This site offers knowledge support to GPs in training and practice including links to clinical evidence to support decision making at the point of care, learning opportunities to support CPD and online resources to support the GP curriculum.
For more support, see our Avoiding 'fake news' in primary care search guide for GPs in training and practice or visit our Help pages guidance
To give feedback or ask a question, please contact us at Knowledge Services.
The following resources are designed to provide you with timely, summarised evidence to support decisions at the point of care, during a consultation or close to an interaction point with a patient.
Click on the tabs across the top to access further information.
Best Practice offers fast and easy access to the latest relevant information for diagnosis and treatment decisions.
It also offers access to guidelines and patient information for specific conditions.
There is more information on the NHS Scotland BMJ page.
DynaMed is designed to decrease time to answer with easy access to the most current, evidence-based information available.
ClinicalKey clinical overviews offer summarised evidence on a range of topics.
SIGN - The Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network, guidelines for Scotland based on a systematic review of the scientific literature and aimed at aiding the translation of new knowledge into action.
CKS - accessible summaries of current evidence and practical guidance on best practice.
NHS Inform - Scotland's national health information service, providing accurate and relevant information to help people make informed decisions about health. Also includes directories of local services.
ALISS - delivered by the Health and Social Care Alliance Scotland (ALLIANCE), ALISS is a directory of local community services such as mental health support, foodbanks, money advice, etc
Care Information Scotland - help and support on a range of issues such as housing, money and health and wellbeing for carers in Scotland. Includes a chat feature to answer questions.
The Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP) has a range of topic guides:
Each section contains the relevant references for the topic.
You may be able to access using your NHS Scotland OpenAthens account on The Knowledge Network.
To find out more about using The Knowledge Network Library Search see the Information Skills Training Tab.
Below are some links to help you access online learning to support professional skills development:
Training opportunities. There is help and information on Information Skills Training section of the Knowledge Network. This includes self-directed training in the form of short video tutorials, e-learning courses and guides.
Online webinars. Learn to make the most of the thousands of healthcare resources available to you through the Knowledge Network by requesting a one-to-one or attending one of the tailored group webinars.
Join our mailing list for updates and further training opportunities.
The Scottish GP Appraisal Toolkit (as part of SOAR)
This resources provides access to toolkits to support audits, use of trigger tools, child protection and other materials essential to practicing GPs.
Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Resources
NES Quality Improvement Zone
Visit the NES Quality Improvement Zone for a range of information and learning resources to support safety and improvement work in your practice. Includes:
NES Patient Safety Zone
The NES Patient Safety Zone includes a range of tools and resources to improve patient safety in practice:
| 89 Hydepark Street, NHS Education for Scotland, Glasgow | |
| 0141 531 2683 | |
| knowledge@nes.scot.nhs.uk | |
| The Knowledge Network |